Peer Groups

In addition to a wide array of topical sessions, Assembly 2012 features a full complement of peer group gatherings. These job-alike meetings give state arts agency staff and council members the chance to network and exchange ideas with people from around the nation who share similar responsibilities and interests. Bring a full team of staff and council members to take advantage of these sessions!

All peer group sessions are volunteer organized. For more information, see our Peer Group FAQ or contact Eric Giles.

Peer Group Meeting Times

Standard Peer Sessions

Thursday, October 4

3:00 - 6:00 p.m.

Preconference Peer Sessions

In addition to the Standard Peer Sessions, some peer groups have scheduled opportunities to gather prior to the conference.

Accessibility Coordinators
Wednesday, October 31:00 - 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 48:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

These are the only times this group will assemble, to allow members to participate in Standard Peer Sessions during the main conference. For more information, contact Katie Lyles Levy.

Arts Education Managers
Tuesday, October 21:00 - 3:00 p.m. (New Managers Luncheon)
3:00 - 5:00 p.m. (New Managers Orientation)
6:00 - 8:00 p.m. (Welcome Reception)
Wednesday, October 38:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 49:00 - 11:00 a.m.
11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (Regional Arts Education Manager Lunch Meetings)

For more information, contact Kim Willey.

Folk / Traditional Arts
Wednesday, October 39:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 49:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

For more information, contact Sally Van de Water or Robert Baron.

Peer Groups Meeting at Assembly 2012

The peer groups listed below plan to gather at Assembly 2012. For information about each session—or to contribute your ideas to the agenda—contact the group coordinators. Agendas will be posted here as they become available.

Peer Group



Executive Directors

Bob Booker (AZ)

Lori Meadows (KY)

Jeff Pierson (WV)

Kelly Barsdate (NASAA)


Chairs and Council Members

Benjamin Brown (AK)

Bobby Kadis (NC)

Rebecca T. Quinn (AL)

Malissa F. Shriver (CA)

Laura Smith (NASAA)


Deputy / Assistant Directors

Michael Donovan (MO)

Kathy Kuszak (NE)

Susan Salkin (DE)

Marty Skomal (NE)


Accessibility Coordinators

Katie Lyles Levy (National Endowment for the Arts)


Arts Education Managers*

Chair: Kim Whitt (MS)

Cochair: Dawn Martinez-Oropeza (IA)

Nancy Daugherty (NEA)

Kim Willey (NASAA)

Peer Session Agenda

PDI Agenda

Communications / Public Information Officers

Shelby Brewer (AR)

Jhai James (GA)

Sue Struve (NASAA)


Community Development Coordinators

Brian Wagner (OR)

Sonia Rae (VT)

Other coordinators TBD


Folk and Traditional Arts Coordinators*

Sally Van de Water

Robert Baron (NY)

Emily Afanador (Oregon Folklife Network)

Lisa Higgins (MO/Univ of Missouri)

Riki Saltzman (Oregon Folklife Network)

Ronna Lee Sharpe (Museum of Western Colorado)


Grants and Fiscal Officers

Jeanette Albert (CO)

Dia Foley (OH)

Ryan Stubbs (NASAA)

Kelly Liu (NASAA)


* The National Endowment for the Arts is providing limited travel support to advance the professional development of arts education managers and folk/traditional arts managers in conjunction with Assembly 2012. Please contact your peer group coordinator for information on travel stipends.

NASAA's mission is to strengthen state arts agencies.
About NASAA | About State Arts Agencies | Member Benefits | Contact NASAA
National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
1200 18th St NW, Suite 1100 | Washington, DC 20036
202-347-6352 | fax: 202-737-0526 | TDD: 202-296-0567 |
Terms of Use © National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.