NASAA Assembly 2014: Peer Groups

In addition to a variety of topical sessions, Assembly 2014 features a wide complement of peer group gatherings. These job-alike meetings give state arts agency staff and council members the chance to network and exchange ideas with people from around the nation who share similar responsibilities and interests. Bring a full team of staff and council members to take advantage of these sessions!

All peer group sessions are volunteer organized. For more information, see our Peer Group FAQ or contact Eric Giles.

Peer Group Meeting Times

Standard Peer Sessions

Friday, November 14

8:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Preconference Peer Sessions

In addition to the peer group sessions occurring during the Assembly, these peer groups have scheduled opportunities to gather prior to the conference.

Arts Education Managers Professional Development Institute
Tuesday, November 1112:30 - 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 129:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 138:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

For more information, contact Susan Oetgen.

Folk / Traditional Arts
Wednesday, November 129:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 139:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

For more information, contact Eric Giles.

Peer Groups Meeting at Assembly 2014

The peer groups listed below plan to gather at Assembly 2014. For information about each session—or to contribute your ideas to the agenda—contact the group coordinators. Agendas will be posted here as they become available.

Peer Group



Executive Directors

NASAA liaison: Kelly Barsdate

Al Head (AL)

Shannon Daut (AK)

Alex Aldrich (VT)


Chairs and Council Members

NASAA liaison: Laura Smith

Benjamin Brown (AK)

Bill Mandicott (MD)

Nola Ruth (MO)

Roger Brooks (NH)

Sarah Lynn Hayes (SC)


Deputy / Assistant Directors

NASAA liaison: Eric Giles

Marian Boyd (AR)

David Slatery (MA)

Michael Donovan (MO)

Camellia El-Antably (WY)


Arts Education Managers*

NASAA liaison: Susan Oetgen

Arts Education Peer Group sessions are planned by a subcommittee of the Arts Education Working Group (AEWG). 2014 AEWG cochairs:

Alex Nelson (AZ)

Deborah Vaughn (OR)


Communications / Public Information Officers

NASAA liaison: Sue Struve

Rebecca Moore (NC)

Amy Schmidt (ND)


Community Development Coordinators

NASAA liaison: Eric Giles

Shannon Ford (TN)

Jason Bowcutt (UT)


Folk and Traditional Arts Coordinators*

NASAA liaison: Eric Giles

John Kay (IN)

Maggie Holtzberg (MA)

Cliff Murphy (MD)

Lisa Higgins (MO)

Pat Atkinson (NV)

Teresa Hollingsworth (South Arts)


Grants and Fiscal Officers

NASAA liaisons: Ryan Stubbs, Kelly Liu

Kristin Burgoyne (MT)

Dia Foley (OH)


* The National Endowment for the Arts is providing limited travel support to advance the professional development of arts education managers and folk/traditional arts managers in conjunction with Assembly 2014. Please contact your peer group coordinator for information on travel stipends.

THANKS!   Louisiana Office of Cultural Development   THANKS!   Annenberg Foundation   THANKS!   National Endowment for the Arts   THANKS!   George Rodrigue Foundation of the Arts   THANKS!   Louisiana State Museum / The Presbytère   THANKS!   City Sightseeing New Orleans   THANKS!   Louisiana Partnership for the Arts   THANKS!   South Arts   
NASAA's mission is to strengthen state arts agencies.
About NASAA | About State Arts Agencies | Member Benefits | Contact NASAA
National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
1200 18th St NW, Suite 1100 | Washington, DC 20036
202-347-6352 | fax: 202-737-0526 | TDD: 202-296-0567 |
Terms of Use © National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.