We gratefully acknowledge the following individuals for their thoughtful and gracious contributions to this planning project:


State Arts Agency Representatives

  • Betsy Bradley, executive director, Mississippi Arts Commission
  • Jennifer Severin, executive director, Nebraska Arts Council
  • Abel Lopez, chair emeritus, District of Colombia Commission on the Arts and Humanities
  • Ken May, deputy director, South Carolina Arts Commission
Planning Consultants NEA Staff

Edward Dickey, Director—State and Regional, National Endowment for the Arts
Andi Mathis, Program Specialist—State and Regional, National Endowment for the Arts

Case Study Contacts

Arizona Commission on the Arts
Shelley Cohn, executive director
Mollie Lakin-Hayes, programs administrator

Colorado Council on the Arts
Fran Holden, executive director

Maine Arts Commission
Alden Wilson, executive director
Peter Simmons, former deputy director

Mississippi Arts Commission
Betsy Bradley, executive director

New Jersey State Council on the Arts
Barbara Russo, executive director
David Miller, deputy director

Project Support

This publication is made possible through funding from the National Endowment for the Arts (Cooperative Agreement DCA #98-17) as well as through the support of NASAA's member state arts agencies.

Production Credits

Copy editing by Jill Hauser, program manager, National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
Artwork and design by Benson Design

NASAA's mission is to strengthen state arts agencies.
About NASAA | About State Arts Agencies | Member Benefits | Contact NASAA
National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
1200 18th St NW, Suite 1100 | Washington, DC 20036
202-347-6352 | fax: 202-737-0526 | TDD: 202-296-0567 |
Terms of Use © National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.